I have a current (non-VZW) subscription to Rhapsody with my Sansa E260. I really like Rhapsody, great service for only $15 a month: unlimited (but DRM protected) songs.

Just wondering: if I already have a Rhapsody account, will I be able to transfer tracks to a Tour/9630? I'm upgrading from my clunky old 8703e. Or, do I have to cancel my separately-billed Rhapsody account and enroll thru VZW?

I downloaded and installed the VZW/Rhapsody app to play music on my desktop, and it appears to be the same software as the regular Rhapsody Windows desktop player, but with a VZW cross-brand logo. Obviously, the 8703e isn't going to show up as a device, it's not on the list of approved devices. The Tour is, however.

This isn't going to affect my decision to upgrade to the Tour, but just trying to be prepared. My goal is to combine multiple devices (phone, digicam, GPS, mp3 player) into a single device. Less to carry, less to charge.
    07-04-09 09:44 AM
    That's a good question. You MIGHT be able too, but if the music has DRM it could be a problem. Hopefully one of our BZW tech can tell us.
    07-04-09 09:51 AM
    A customer told me: you would need to cancel the subscription with Rhapsody and sign up through Verizon, but you can keep your same username and password. Any music you purchased you could keep, and any of the unlimited download music can just be redownloaded (since it's all-inclusive under the $15 anyways).

***I was told this when the VZW Rhapsody first came out, so I don't know if it has changed.
    07-04-09 10:17 AM
    So the answer is... YES! The Tour/9630 can be used with an **existing** Rhapsody account. The only reason to switch would be if you want to combine your monthly Rhapsody bill into your VZW bill.

I downloaded and installed the VZW/Rhapsody app, but just out of curiosity, I opened my regular Rhapsody app... the 9630 shows up as a device, all I had to do was right-click and choose "authorize device" from the popup menu.