I'm not very good at math or fine print and Verizon's web site doesn't help.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong:

Plan A: Verizon's web site advertises a bundled, 900 minute voice plan plus Blackberry email and messaging for $120.

Plan B: They don't advertise it but if you go through the order process starting with the phone, you can get the Nationwide Select voice plan (which includes unlimited SMS, MMS, and Web) for $80, then add the Email and Web for Blackberry for $30, resulting in a total of $110.

My assumption is that they're essentially the same thing and that the email and web part of the $30 Blackberry plan is also unlimited data because that's what it says on my account (I went with Plan B). I can only assume that Plan A is also unlimited data but that isn't stated anywhere that I can find.

SO...is my assumption correct: in effect these are essentially the same exact plans except Plan B is $10 cheaper? If not, what's the difference? It's virtually impossible to tell from their Web site but according their sales reps on the phone and in the corporate retail shop they are, for all intents and purposes, identical. But as we all know, the Verizon people aren't always the fountain of all knowledge.

If it is true though...why do they offer a bundle that's more expensive than a la carte? I guess it's a little more convenient to order but I suspect the real reason is that it nets them $240 over the life of the contract. If you pick the bundled plan first then add a Blackberry to it, you won't see the a la carte option in the ordering process, and pay more. A bit underhanded, it seems, if they really are essentially the same thing.
    05-27-08 04:52 AM
    I have the separate plans, $79 for 900 mins + $30 for BB unlimited data, it is cheaper this way by $10. If you're lucky enough to have 25% off voice plan from your company, it's about $30 cheaper. I worked for bank of america & they have an employee discount.