Hello,

I'm new to Blackberries and the site, so please accuse me if this has already been discussed. I did a search, but didn't find actually what I was looking for.

I'm a PMC working in Afghanistan and recently purchased a Storm 2 for overseas use. I primarily stay in touch with friends and family through Skype, email, and IM, but the internet can be spotty and I wanted something that would enable me to keep in touch (secondary/back-up means). I use a company issued in-country phone for voice. I'll be using the Storm for BBM only - no voice, no email, no web browsing.

I've read and heard conflicting information on what package I need. The online assistant (verizonwireless.com) advised I only needed the standard data package ($29.99) and as long as I only use the BBM would not incur any additional charges. I thought this sounded to good to be true and visited a local Verizon store and was told I would need the GlobalEmail plan ($65/mth). According to that rep the GlobalEmail plan was required for the BBM - otherwise I'd incur intl roaming charges, but would have unlimited access to email and web browsing.

So, for BBM usage only in Afghanistan which plan do I need standard data or GlobalEmail?

Thanks,

Bill
    11-27-09 05:25 PM
    this should be moved to the Verizon forum so other verizon people can answer.
    11-27-09 10:02 PM
    i'm almost positive the way this works (works like this for ATT and TMo) is the following:

your standard $30 data package gets you unlimited in the US and *connectivity* wherever verizon/vodafone is operating. when you connect up to their network in another country, all voice and data is roaming, etc

your $65 international data package puts you on a roaming "white list" so as long as vodafone is in that country. you can suck down all the data you want and not have overages or roaming, since you're already on the "international" plan.