01-15-11 05:28 AM
1,313 ... 515253
tools
    Man, that is great! My last job (even though I am a mechanic) required me to write work orders for customers periodically. I don't have people skills at all. That's why I'm a mechanic...not a service advisor. In fact, I genuinely loathed dealing with customers at all. I was expected to try and sell a bunch of unnecessary services, and I got so sick and tired of hearing the same stupid excuses every day. Obviously I couldn't say what I was thinking or feeling. But when I finally found a better job and gave my notice, I didn't even bother to hold anything back. I had even warned my superiors to keep me away from customers AFTER I'd given my notice. They didn't listen...so I didn't hold back a bit.

The most common excuse (and my last conversation with a customer):

C: Oh well I'm going in for a full service next week at the dealer!
    Me: Well then what are you doing here today?
    C: Uhh...the full service doesn't include an oil change!
    Me: What the f*** gave you that impression? What part of FULL SERVICE makes you think an oil change isn't part of it?
    C: That's what I was told....
    Me: By who?
    C: The dealer!
    Me: Yeah...we're done here.

So yeah, my time there was quickly coming to an end, so I didn't care much either.
    LOL I feel ya on that one.

I used to work for a dealer that gave away free oil changes for life with purchase of car.

About 80% of my upsell attempts to customers went the same way.

Sir/Maam we reccomend you perform these service on your vehicle. these are what we noticed while doing you FREE oil change and inspection.

insert services here.

Customer: ok thank you for checking that I will have my regular mechanic take care of those.

WTF!!!!????

or when we would get nasty weather like snow or whatever, wouldnt you know that the only people that showed up for their appointments would be the ones that were getting the free oil change. Payed appointments never showed on those days.