01-15-11 04:28 AM
1,313 ... 89101112 ...
tools
    a completely non phone related one, but oh so funny

i used to work as an aircraft engineer in the air force, and each time a jet lands, the pilot files his report on things that dont work, and one really caught my eye

........(cant remember the part) doesnt work in o f f position
    06-07-09 06:43 AM
    Actually I think they used a standard plug and put the smaller plug in the back

another possibility depending where this place was and how it was wired..

you can use category 5 jacks for regular telephone lines.. (this is only typically done in business')
    06-07-09 06:49 AM
    On one occasion I was called at 11pm by a ship, "The stability computer doesn't work". Now as you can imagine, stability is a pretty important consideration for a ship so I was waiting on the dockside when it arrived at 5am next morning.

OK, captain is right, the display is blank. Hang on a moment, the power light is green on the computer but nothing on the display (this is a big 21" CRT monitor, and it's bolted down so it doesn't move at sea). Pokes finger at switch, Nope, no change, still no picture. Maybe no input power, I'll check. Hand down the back of the display to find the power cord, unplug from the display and push multimeter probes into the connector. Nope, no volts.