01-01-11 09:11 PM
122 ... 2345
tools
    This is an awful way to track expenses. I can't imagine any SOX audited corporation utilizing this since there is no accountability.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    There's a federal per diem rate, which is deductible by the employer and not taxable to the employee. There's a cap on it all, so you can't go too crazy with it.

Still, it doesn't really relate to the topic of tethering, for which there is no per diem allowance and no amount you're specifically permitted to tether before you have to start paying. It's a lovely idea, but it only works if the carrier permits it.

Along the same token, I am a tax accountant at a public firm. We are working our tails off at the moment, and periodically I take breaks to do fun things like participate in flame wars on Crackberry. Per the OP's logic, I should be able to charge my $80/hour rate to a client for the 10-15 minutes I spent surfing the Net and not working on their return. How is that not thievery, you ask? Why, because I am working so very hard, and it's not fair that I have to be stuck in the office 12-14 hours a day, and what's an extra $20 on top of what they'll be paying the firm anyway?

But I don't do it, because it is cheating, it is wrong, and it is just plain childish, selfish behavior. If you're okay with that mentality, fine, but stop making excuses. It is what it is.
    03-26-09 02:44 PM
    is verizon required to store all SMS? I say it doesn't cost them anything because it doesn't affect network traffic at all. SMS piggybacks off other signals, which is why they are limited to 160 characters, specifically so they don't bog down their network. Yes, supporting SMS costs them money, but the difference between 100,000 SMS and 100,000,000 SMS is next to nothing.
    Excuse me?
    Next to nothing?
    Do you work for AIG?

Your definition of next to nothing seems to imply that you do work for AIG spending our tax dollars...