Simple question....

Will verizon opt for sim cards with LTE? I thought they were not but I do not know if that has changed. Anyone know for sure?
    09-16-09 10:07 PM
    I believe LTE will require a SIM card. I know very little about the technology and am trying to find out more myself.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-16-09 10:13 PM
    It will utilize a SIM card.
    09-16-09 10:16 PM
    It definitely will. VZW made that public months ago.

09-16-09 11:47 PM
    Interesting... Sooooo new phone? Geeeeee!
    LOL
    Any excuse really...

09-16-09 11:55 PM
    Don't all GSM phones require a SIM? If so, since LTE is based on GSM, VZW will have SIMs in LTE phones.
    09-17-09 03:03 AM
    Okay newbie here, but if they are going to use LTE which is GSM and need sim-cards wouldn't that render their several billion dollar current cell phone network useless????

Or are they just going to go around to all their current cell sites and add a simple GSM output for a few grand a pop so their towers are in a sense dual-band??

Lastly, if they go with the thing above wouldn't that have ATT and T-Mobile crying at their door step to do roaming agreements to help their networks?
    09-17-09 04:14 AM
    VZW just purchased the 700mhz spectrum which LTE will run on, it's going to slaughter everyone else. Data calls have already been tested in Boston and it will launch in 30+ major markets in Q1 of 2010.

And yes it will use sim cards.
    09-17-09 07:43 PM
    a few months back there was a discussion on whether LTE would be closer to CDMA or GSm in technology. Some people on here were bragging on how CDMA was the base for LTE technology and that sim cards will no come to LTE because that is the way its based... just like CDMA.

Twins, u were the head of this discussion (wish I could find that discussion tread). Now I hear that it is the opposite and that LTE will indeed use GSM based technology and sim cards???? I'm confused!
    09-17-09 07:54 PM