OK, I am new to this type of forum.

VZW customer now with Alltel phone and plan.

I know what PRL's are...to an extent. Have done the *228 thing under Alltel different times. Under VZW its different. Can't figure out how to commit after its done updating.

Also have been told you can put a VZW prl in an Alltel phone. What little Ive read on here says opposite. So whats the scoop. My personal openion....since Alltel is VZW, what difference does it make?

TIA
    04-07-10 10:38 PM
    Welcome amo1977, you can update the PRL the same as Alltel, press *228 and select option one to program a phone and option 2 to update the roaming. If you are in a converted market, they may need to push a hybrid prl to you so you can still register off the Alltel towers there. If you fully converted over to VZW, then a standard prl update should be fine. The difference in PRL between Alltel and VZW is going to make a big difference in service, if you are in a Alltel area and using a VZW prl, you may have poor signal because the closest VZW tower may be miles away and you are surrounded by Alltel towers and vice versa, causing poor signal or no signal at all. Hope this helps.
    04-08-10 11:32 AM
    Heres the deal. Before VZW bought Alltel, Alltel was going to put a tower up right beside a US Cell tower. Well that was 2 years ago now. Was wanting to get a VZW PRL or even a US Cell PRL into my phone. I live 10 miles from the US Cell tower and 30 miles from 3 Alltel towers. I live in a town of 300 people and its very, very rural so I doubt that "corprate" america gives a rats crap about us and won't put one up. Thing is if VZW has/had an agrement with US Cell for roaming, I cant see what it would hurt to have a VZW PRL in my Alltel phone.