My Pearl is less than a year old and has a hardware issue (ALT key came loose), so without a hitch a tech in my local Verizon store set up a warranty replacement for me. NICE!

Received it last night. Popped it open today to prep for transferring everything over and can't figure out how to get the device switch wizard in DM to work. One CS phone call and I determine I can't use the device switch wizard b/c I only have one USB cable and one battery (sorry, still bit of a noob here). She recommends doing a backup and restore. I had already backed up thru DM and backed up my 3rd party apps just in case as well.

Then I try plugging in the new device and DM doesn't recognize it. I come to the realization that the phone must have to be activated before it can be recognized by DM. I "activate" it via the web, fire up the new device, and the radio is OFF. No problem, I dial *228, option 1, and it tells me the device can't be activated, I have to call the 800 #. I wait 5 mins and try again, still no go. I call CS. They fix something in their activation system, and we try again, but the radio is OFF again. It activates, but the radio goes off after 30 secs. So I'm transferred to a blackberry tech, where I should have been in the 1st place. He has me dial ##000000, which brings up a cool screen where you can probably do serious damage to your device.

He has me add a password in, supposedly to fix this issue, which causes the device to reboot. After it comes back up, the radio is still OFF.

After a couple more mins he determines the replacement device is faulty and is sending me another one, I should have it by Monday.

WTF, does no one check these refurbed devices before they send them out for replacements?

Thanks for reading, rant over.
    02-26-09 03:28 PM
    Generally only about 3% of Refurbs are faulty. You just got a bad one, sorry.
    02-26-09 04:22 PM
    does no one check these refurbed devices before they send them out for replacements?