ok so i'm new to blackberry's and i got the curve today. used by one person for only 2 days and when i received it, i did a full wipe. i searched everywhere and i can't figure out why my email and web browser wont work. i did that "host routing table" and i still arent getting anywhere. i was on the phone with a verizon tech for 2 hours and we tried everything and it all concluded to just waiting for the servers to set up the phone but its been almost 6 hours since i activated it and nothing. Does anyone here have any ideas of what I should do?
    10-31-08 11:44 PM
    Call tech back and have them do a DMU reset and check the relay tool. The last rep gave up. Sorry this happened. do you have a 1XEV or 1xEV?
    11-01-08 12:01 AM
    i have 1x without the EV and he did a dmu reset. how do i check the relay tool?
    11-01-08 12:20 AM
    Do you have voice service on this device? In other words, has your number been activated on this device? If so, dial *228 and hit opt 1 and wait for it to finish on its own. Then pull the battery and put it back in. See if you get 1XEV. Also, obviously make sure you have a RIM data plan on your account.

Another question. Did the previous person by chance have this device connected to a BES server?

Another option you have is to try and just redo the ESN activation yourself if you by chance ended up calling VZW customer service to activate it first. It's possible they botched the activation for you. Get online to verizonwireless.com and sign into your account. Then go to Services for your phone and click on Activate Handset. Tell it a replacement handset and plug in the ESN info off the phone (under battery on sticker) or in the HELP ME! screen on the BB. Then just follow the onscreen directions... it'll basically tell you to wait 5 minutes and then dial *228 opt1 as I indicated above.
    Last edited by JRSCCivic98; 11-01-08 at 12:38 AM.
    11-01-08 12:30 AM