Hi, newbie here. I am looking to get a Storm2 which will be my first smartphone, switching and porting my number from Sprint. Right now Best Buy has the Storm2 at $100, which is $80 less than Verizon's web site or local store. Wondering if there is any potential downside to getting the phone at Best Buy, searched these forums and can't see any clear answer.

I plan to get full insurance on the phone, but would getting the phone at Best Buy limit me to getting it serviced there, rather than the local corporate Verizon store?

Does Best Buy have the same technology to copy phonebook entries (from Sanyo SCP-8400 in my case) to a new Blackberry?

Are inter-carrier number porting issues any more likely to occur by using Best Buy rather than local corporate store?

Does not getting the phone at a corporate store affect my "new every two" eligibility in the future?

Thanks for any replies!
    Last edited by Stratoblaster; 03-14-10 at 09:33 PM.
    03-14-10 09:04 PM
    As far as I know, you will have a seperate return policy for the first 30 days but the warranty can still be done through VZW after the 30 days. You will still be able to get your New Every Two and I am unsure if they can transfer your contacts at Best Buy...maybe someone else can fill you in there.
    03-14-10 11:11 PM
    Thanks, you're right I need to just scope out the local BestBuy. For $80 price difference, I'm like "What's the catch?!" Looking forward to joining the world of the Crackberry.
    03-14-10 11:42 PM
    It was $179 at vzw when I got mine but they had the $100 mail in rebate which made it the same price as Best Buy. Not sure if the rebate is still going on. There really is no catch. Like supermario stated you'll just need to take any issues back to Best Buy for the first 30 days. But its a great device and I haven't had any trouble with mine. And porting the number shouldn't be an issue as long as you don't cancel service with your previous carrier first or you will lose your number.