Hey guys,

I read through several topics and threads about already used PINs, but I hope my situation is a little different.
    I am starting off with the same old thing - yes, I bought the BB Tour on ebay:

"cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270474052352&ssPageNam e=ADME:X:AAQ:GB:1123"

I have received it a few days later with everything inside the package:
    -sim card, accessories, support card etc.
    As I am a student in the UK, I love to use the blackberry, however I travel a lot and therefore I have a monthly subscription to the service. My previous phone has been a pearl and this feels like a major upgrade for me.
    I called orange to change my PIN to my new blackberry. they were unable to do so as the PIN seems registered to another user at verizon. I think this is impossible, because my phone has never been touched.
    However when I did switch it on for the first time I had a weird activation required for BES. also my web browser seems to be missing.
    after some googling and reading through forums, I managed to get rid of the activation required and get it to show maps (which it previously didn't).
    Now when I pop in the old sim card that was delivered with the phone, it gets rejected and I have no way in finding out what number it is (or do I?) so I am unable to call verizon.
    Now, I have contacted the seller a few moments ago and awaiting for his reply. I will update this thread and tell you how it goes.
    Meanwhile however I was wondering if you have any suggestions on how to tackle this problem - ultimately the last solution would be to contact RIM?
    thanks

mmackh
    11-07-09 05:54 AM