02-08-09 09:06 PM
296 12345 ...
tools
    I just saw the blog post. It seems to be working on my 8130 just fine.
    12-05-08 03:37 AM
    I've been paying for VZNavigator for about six or nine months now. The program has speaking directions that follow you as you go. For example, when you approach a road that you need to turn on, a voice tells you to do so.

In addition, there is a 3D display that makes things so much easier while you are driving. (I live in LA where streets change directions and names all of the time. Although I am a LA native, I still need GPS to get around this city.)

When I viewed the GPS feature on maps, it looked like a map with directions. You still need to notice the streets as they appear. If you do not have any GPS, I guess free GPS is better than no GPS.

Nevertheless, I think I will continue to pay $9.99 a month for VZNavigator. In addition to 3D voice directions, there are local searches for ATMs, restaurants, theaters, etc. Those additional features mean more to me and I don't mind paying for them.
    12-05-08 04:50 AM
    Not working on my 8130, ver .97. Tried *228>1, did a soft reset, still no-joy :-(

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-05-08 05:40 AM
    Interesting that folks are using as a driving aide. I would think the screen would be way too small and disracting to view. I noticed that my Curve liked acquiring location outdoors and was slow inside the house. I walked around my land last night (like a little kid with a new toy) and the thing is dead on. Not sure how I will use it other than day hikes or as a passenger in vehicles w/o built in GPS.
    Thanks for the heads up CB Members.
    12-05-08 06:01 AM
    To idotson: blackberry maps has a local search feature too. It'll do the same thing searching for restaurants, atms, etc, and it'll do it $10 cheaper per month. But, to each his own. The only big diff I can find between the 2 is vznav talks to you and bbmaps doesn't.

12-05-08 06:23 AM