Hi Everyone,

Just wondering...so currently I have a BB Pearl with Verizon through my mom's family plan. However, now that the Tour is coming next week, I want to get my own account (bc I get a discount through my company & bc I graduated in May and I don't need/want my mom to pay my bill anymore) but still retain my number. Is this doable or would they charge me a bunch of extra fees just to get my phone number?

Thanks!
    07-10-09 12:41 PM
    You & your mom both need to call VZW & ask to split the line off of the account. They will process an Assumption of Liability & fix you right up.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-10-09 12:43 PM
    Thanks, would they still charge an early termination fee?
    07-10-09 12:46 PM
    No - no fees involved.

07-10-09 12:48 PM
    No early term fees. They will run a credit on you and the results of this might generate a deposit. This money is set aside and does earn a small amount of intrest - after 1 year it would then be applied to your account as long as you payment history is good.. Unless policy changed, this is how I understand it to work.
    07-10-09 12:50 PM
    Nice, thank you!!!
    07-10-09 12:50 PM
    A little more detail.

Mom calls & authorizes the order. Rep notes account.

You call & set up new service.

You & mom can be on the line together & save a call or some reps will call your mom for authorization.

Refundable security deposit may be required - if it is & you don't want to pay it, they can put you as a sub-account under mom & send you a separate bill. Remember that if you go the sub-account route, failure to pay means they will call mom.

One year contract will be put on the new line - somewhat moot because as soon as you grab a new phone, it becomes a two-year. Some might say to upgrade first, then split the accoiunt - that is up to you.

07-10-09 01:03 PM
    A little more detail.

Mom calls & authorizes the order. Rep notes account.

You call & set up new service.