Hi, all~

I'm new to Verizon (went with the Storm) and am wondering if it's possible to change what the caller hears when they're leaving a voice mail.

And I don't mean the personal greeting, I mean the "at the tone, please record your voice message, or press 1 for more options - to leave a callback number, press 5" stuff...

As far as I am concerned, that's no longer new information and I'd rather not subject my callers to it.

...so, is there any way to turn that off?

Thanks in advance,

- Nathan
    12-11-08 07:05 PM
    Nathan, I've had Verizon for years. If you find a way to turn that annoying sh*t off you make sure you post it. Until then, here's what I do. On my phone, when it kicks to vm you hear my greeting with ME saying - "hello this is so and so, to leave a message press star" star takes you right to the BEEP on verizon. I do this out of courtesy. On nextel/sprint its pound on straight older nextel its the number 1. I'll be honest with you, if I call someones cell and they don't answer but it rings a bunch a times, I never leave a message if I don't know their carrier shortcut.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-11-08 09:18 PM
    Upon revisiting this post, I realized I've memorized this horrifyingly long and obnoxious compilation of redundancy: "at the tone, please record your message ause: when you are finished recording you may hang up OR press one for more options :f-ing pause: to leave a callback number, press five now.
    I just can't believe that in this day and age this is tolerated. It is the single most annoying thing about communicating by cellular phone.
    Even worse is when you don't record a personal greeting. That monotone voice announces verrry slowwwwly Its like a friggin short story these imbeciles recite!
    First, you waste 30 seconds connecting and ringing away. Then comes