08-17-09 02:52 PM
67 123
tools
    Dude... I'm a paramedic... I've been hit, bit, had a gun pulled on me, you name it. People get pissed. They swear. It isn't anything to cry about.
    I must have forgot at which point I said that being a tech was the hardest job in the world. Thanks for your service.
    08-14-09 11:27 PM
    I work in customer service for a cable TV company. I've been at this job for 13 years, in the call center for the first 18 months, and ever since then at a walk-in customer service center.

When I was on the phones, I was screamed at, cussed at, etc. One guy even said he was coming down to our building to kick my @ss.

At the walk-in location, it's not usually as bad, but most of my customers have been coming in to my office every month for the 11 years that we've been at this location, so they know me and know that I know my stuff. One of the girls at a different location had a customer spit in her face once. If that had been me on the receiving end of that, I would have gone across the counter, and that would have been the day that I lost my job.

Over the years, I've learned to not take it personally when they want to act stupid. And I also learned many years ago to reveal very little personal information, because you never know who might want to look you up.
    08-15-09 12:34 AM
    Women get abused in call centers. They get the perverts who think the woman has a nice voice & whether or not they act out on it, they imagine the number they called had a 900 NPA.

Then they get the Middle Eastern wackjobs who consider women to be second-class citizens who exist for one purpose.

There are also the assorted dopes who think a woman doesn't know what she is talking about.

Maybe the caller is one of those nutcases who thinks he can intimidate a woman - you know, the putz on a power-trip.

Throw in the modern freaks who don't realize their use of profanity is a sign of stupidity & a poor vocabulary...