1. Geckoglassworks's Avatar
    Hi all, I am theme developer and webmaster involved with several BlackBerry communities around the web. It has recently come to my attention that many of my themes have been stolen and many of my post on several sites have been completely plagiarized by www(dot)blackberrytx(dot)com
    I have filed 2 DMCA complaints against this site, contacted his advertising partners and his webhost regarding his blatant thievery of my material.

    I just wanted to spread the word to other developers and community members that may be having their hard work taken and re-distributed with-out their knowledge. This seems to be happening with free and even some premium material. Worse yet this guy is actually taking donations for others work! I would encourage all Developers, Mobihand partners and the CrackBerry team to check out this site and take appropriate action.

    Thanks everyone
    08-29-10 01:25 AM
  2. ajc3designs's Avatar
    This information was gotten from WHOIS.com

    The data contained in GoDaddy.com, Inc.'s WhoIs database,
    while believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is"
    with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
    information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
    in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
    Any use of this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without the prior written
    permission of GoDaddy.com, Inc. By submitting an inquiry,
    you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty. In particular,
    you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or otherwise make possible,
    dissemination or collection of this data, in part or in its entirety, for any
    purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
    and solicitations of any kind, including spam. You further agree
    not to use this data to enable high volume, automated or robotic electronic
    processes designed to collect or compile this data for any purpose,
    including mining this data for your own personal or commercial purposes.

    Please note: the registrant of the domain name is specified
    in the "registrant" field. In most cases, GoDaddy.com, Inc.
    is not the registrant of domain names listed in this database.

    xubiao guo

    Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (Domain Names, Web Hosting and SSL Certificates - Go Daddy)

    Domain servers in listed order:
    08-29-10 01:30 AM
  3. ale7714's Avatar
    Yes some of my free content is there... Apparently the site index free content from blogs and forums so probably the posts, themes, walls, etc from a lot of people is there...
    08-29-10 04:46 PM
  4. Geckoglassworks's Avatar
    Bing and Google 'index' content... this guy plagiarizes words, steals files and takes credit for others work.
    08-29-10 07:04 PM
  5. ale7714's Avatar
    Bing and Google 'index' content... this guy plagiarizes words, steals files and takes credit for others work.
    I totally understand your point Geckoglassworks, I also did my part reporting the site.
    08-29-10 10:41 PM
  6. Geckoglassworks's Avatar
    Thanks ale7714, Thanks ajc3designs, I've been getting a lot of solid re-enforcement from other developers around the BBM too. I think this individual will reap what he sows pretty soon.
    08-30-10 04:59 AM
  7. ahaz86's Avatar
    ok, sent an email to a contact at RIM because technically they own a piece of my products that are on the website and they are losing money too. Last time something like this happened RIM's legal department handled it with the people
    08-30-10 07:04 AM
  8. arsenalsocal's Avatar
    I was just going to make a thread about this website as well. Two of my themes were found there. The person/website email is gxb82@hotmail.com
    08-31-10 05:00 PM
  9. Lilin28's Avatar
    There are several sites stealing best139 Design's DreamTorch theme. All you have to do is Google DreamTorch and the first page has several sites. There are probably several other stolen themes on these sites
    Last edited by Lilin28; 09-01-10 at 01:25 AM.
    09-01-10 01:22 AM
  10. D.R.e.W's Avatar
    09-01-10 11:23 AM
  11. theycallmepetey's Avatar
    Much respect for you for making a stand! I have been trying to make a few of my own themes and have put, in some of them, days and days worth of work! My point is some people take for granted others work in 2 seconds but it took the designer 2 weeks to do! I hope that they get what they have coming, I am not a great theme-master or anything but I would like to be, but even someone like me, I use other peoples icons, ect. but u credit them for it! So should they!

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-01-10 05:35 PM
  12. romitog's Avatar
    Many of my themes have been stolen by this site or should I say this guy.. First it started out as 3 of them...sent a couple of emails..first email he did not respond to then I had to threaten legal action. Basically it took 3 emails for my themes to be removed. He tried saying I needed to delete my themes...No way not acceptable!!!

    So of course I didn't trust the guy...why should I...I went back...those three were deleted but the I can't say the word on the forum I guess I will say **** threw up like 7 more of my themes...Beware all just because he says he deletes your themes doesn't mean he doesn't go back and grab more.

    Thank you to everyone who is taking a stand..I think it is awesome that all of us developers are working together and especially site owners working together to shut this guy down...know he registers on the sites as Nick939 I didn't read through this whole thread..if you see him immediately flag! Usually he posts a War of warcraft theme and them starts snatching everyones stuff.

    Neeners09 / romitog
    Sweet BB Themes
    09-02-10 04:56 PM
  13. ale7714's Avatar
    What bothers me most is that these people do not understand the effort it takes to create something (item, app, tutorial, etc.) they just prefer to take what makes someone else without permission ...
    09-02-10 09:27 PM
  14. arsenalsocal's Avatar
    Make sure you check back, as he is known to upload already deleted themes!
    09-05-10 10:04 PM
  15. adelineeleanor's Avatar
    Omg. We really need to do something about it. How can he do such a thing!
    He is a disgrace to the blackberry community.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-08-10 05:07 AM
  16. dougeefresh's Avatar
    I found mine in there. What's even worse, this guy has a zipped collection of 40+ Elecite themes! That's really messed up when developers put so much time and effort into making themes.
    09-16-10 05:01 PM
  17. Vaile23's Avatar
    fair play to you guys for sorting this guy out. this is why i dev my own themes and don't post them anywhere, anymore. most of my graphical work in the past got plagiarised so im not risking it again.
    09-20-10 07:12 AM
  18. Geckoglassworks's Avatar
    Just found this today www(dot)blackberry-applications(dot)net
    Looks like this guy has launched another site where he's duplicating the stolen content from bbtx.

    p.s. Thanks to everyone who's taken the time to harass this individual, his web host, and advertising partners. I hate to see so many folks work getting ripped off by this ****.
    09-22-10 04:04 AM
  19. vette71's Avatar
    Just found one of mine on there and shot an email to him. I put a lot of time and heart into my themes and certainly don't want them reposted. Blackberrytourthemes.com has stolen several of mine as well. Makes you not want to post your work.
    09-24-10 02:55 PM