Was this supposed to be shown at DevCon ?.

There was nothing yesterday, will we still get a peek at this ?.
    10-19-11 07:17 AM
    It was a software developers conference, so no.
    10-19-11 09:01 AM
    It was a software developers conference, so no.
    Respectfully, since RIM manufactures its own hardware, aren't all of its conferences software conferences? I'm not trying to be a smart aleck (really!), but if I was a software developer or prospective developer, it would be great to see form factors (full screen, keyboard and screen, resolutions, sizes, key configurations, etc.) from a software development standpoint and to decide whether I really wanted to invest my energy and money into the platform. If RIM is headed for the rocks as is widely held (and, to be sure, I don't think it is though it has been in a rough patch for awhile), showing some hardware bling would get me fired up as a developer. Of course, I would also probably not care whilst playing with my free Playbook.

But then, I'm not a developer and don't fully understand their concerns.
    10-19-11 04:59 PM
    BigBadWulf, that's a bit of a harsh comment ?.

The reason I asked is that a Crackberry article...

QNX Developer Phone to be BlackBerry Colt? First Commercial QNX BlackBerry Smartphone to support LTE?! | CrackBerry.com

... appears to imply that at Devcon the development phones would also be launched.

Maybe they were, but not publicaly and with NDA's etc ?
    Last edited by Fatboy40; 10-20-11 at 07:31 AM.
    10-20-11 07:28 AM
    Nope.

On the earnings call back in September RIM said:
    The development platform for QNX phones will be presented in more detail at DevCon in October, and prototype phones featuring the QNX operating system and development platform will be available in the not too distant future.