As we all know, we are now in tax season. I am curious to know what can I claim on my taxes. I have an "accountant" that has me kind of worried. The last thing we need is an audit.

I know I can claim expenses for school such as books, a computer, tuition, loans, etc.

But she's telling me I can claim repairs done on my car, gas to get to and from work, my uniform expenses, tolls, and my lunch!

I don't know, but some of those sound ridiculous...

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-22-10 12:18 PM
    Listen to her, thats what you pay for..... if your not feeling right go some where else. depending what kind of work you do, she might be right
    01-22-10 12:30 PM
    If I get audited, I can't come back and put the blame on her, can I? I'm a salesman and a newspaper delivery "boy" too.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-22-10 12:34 PM
    I am in the same boat. I went from salaried to work for a small company that pays me on an hourly basis. Thus, I am deducting all of my expenses.

Check out the following link:

Tax Deduction Check List

This is my accountant's website link to all of their various tax deduction checklists.

These may give you an idea of what you can do.

I was worried about certain things. For instance, I upgraded my phone to a BB for work purposes. I knew I could deduct the cost of what I payed for the BB. HOwever, regarding the plan, I assumed I could only deduct the additional $29.99 data fee since that was the "add" for business purposes. My account has since instructed me that once I use my phone to make 1 business related call that I can deduct all portions of my phone bill (it's a family plan) that pertain to my line.

Etc.......
    01-22-10 12:57 PM