How could a company with 2.93B in cash and ZERO debt be taken over?
    - because they own the controlling stock.

So.. ANY company could OFFER but they cannot just take it over.

A company where the public owns the controlling share can be taken over more easily... with the approval going to the shareholders. all you need is a majority vote.

No way is this going to happen

Haven't you heard of a hostile takeover. Did Gordon Gekko teach you nothing!?
    08-18-11 04:05 PM
    zzZZzzzzzzzzzzZZZzZzzzZzzzZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    all these rumors, all this talk about takeover blabla

i just want my 9900 now -_-
    WILLSaDICKted likes this.
    08-18-11 04:07 PM
    Secondly, if a buyout were to happen, it would first need to be cleared from the Canadian government (which is highly unlikely).
    Huhhh!! Where'd you get this from? Especially the "highly unlikely" part.

I'm no expert but the only thing the government is interested in is making sure a buyout doesn't result in an anti-competive marketplace. Unless they have a valid legal reason they cannot stop a free-market transaction such as this from occuring.
    08-18-11 04:30 PM

This says it all.
    Seijuro likes this.
    08-18-11 04:43 PM
    Haven't you heard of a hostile takeover. Did Gordon Gekko teach you nothing!?
    Wasn't Gordon Gekko a fisherman?
    08-18-11 04:46 PM

This says it all.
    agreed !
    WILLSaDICKted likes this.
    08-18-11 04:47 PM
    Funny thing, many folk have wanted the ceo'S to go, now they maybe the ones to save it all.
    agreed !
    seriously just LMAO! that was great!
    08-18-11 04:53 PM
    yea lol, i love that picture xD
    08-18-11 05:13 PM
    You describe a proxy vote. All it takes is a serious offer.
    I think Mike and Jim own about 8% together. A company can also buy shares on the open market to outweigh them or just make a really compelling offer...there are ways. Greed usually works Remember a lot of shareholders have been locked up for years.