I think the pledge is just a waste of time. why say some sequence of words when you could be getting things done. sheesh. I agree with the OP, but I still say it.
    10-16-08 09:05 PM
    Hipkik it is your first ammendment right not to say the pledge, yes. Do I agree with you? No. I think you are probably a young idealist who has yet to experience the world. When you get older you will come to appreciate the freedoms you have in this country.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-16-08 09:07 PM
    not to offend but why is it that if i do not say the pledge that it seems that i take the country for granted. yes i do complain more that you will here me praise the country especially in this day and age, but i am very thankful for what we do have. and if we are the country that is all about freedom, then why does it offend/erk some people that i choose to us my right of freedom to do something they don't like?
    10-16-08 09:11 PM
    Well I'm a HS student as well and my school doesn't force you to say the pledge. We have a few people who can't say it for religious reasons, but you are still asked to stop talking, stand up and be respectful during that time. Bottom line is, your teacher is 100% wrong, and you do have the right to do as you please.

This is just my opinion:
    I am not very patriotic, but if you do look at our country compared to other areas of the world: Middle East, Asia, Africa, Cuba; where you probably wouldn't be permitted to be using a BlackBerry right now, saying the pledge is really not that big of a deal.

10-16-08 09:11 PM
    ....I think you are probably a young idealist who has yet to experience the world...
    very true! idealist would be the word to describe me in a sense that i like to dream but i do think i think realistically when the situation calls
    ...you are still asked to stop talking, stand up and be respectful during that time.
    i usually stand and bow my head or sit and whisper a prayer