Just curious why my old laptop can play the dvd movies at full screen with great picture quality but would struggle on youtube videos with full screen above 360p. I figure if there both a digital signal being sent why are they handled differently.

I'm imagining it would have something to do with how it delivered from the media itself as regular cheap dvd players can fill a large tv with HQ pictures and I'm sure they have very little in the way of memory or processing power so why couldn't an online source do the same if the signal is digital?

Thanks
    11-30-16 02:36 PM
    Caveat: I am not an expert.

Having said that, it's likely that the issue is more with your internet connection / speed than with your laptop.
    The video from YouTube is coming in over your internet, which may involve a wireless connection - often wireless connections are MUCH slower than a wired connection: since the laptop is old, it's very possible that it does not support the "N" wireless protocol. So, your wireless link could be only 10% of the speed of a hard-wired connection.

Playing the DVD, on the other hand, you're going from DVD to memory and then to the screen - the DVD software will be actively buffering in memory and you will get a much more impressive experience, methinks.
    11-30-16 03:36 PM
    That's what I first thought but then other more up to date pc's are good at 1080p on the same network and I can pause the video to let the buffer fill up well past my view point but the picture stays the same, kind of choppy and pixelated while a dvd would be smooth with no pixilation.

I guess it would mean that a dvd signal some how goes straight to the screen without going through my dated graphics card but that's the part I don't get, why couldn't the streaming option use the same process?
    11-30-16 04:03 PM