Hey Everyone,

I've tried getting responses to inquiries in iTunes forums, but no one in there is really intelligent, or helpful. This place is incredible in terms of people willing to help so I thought I'd try here in the off topic area.

I have about 45 gigs of music that I've ripped over the last week to my Sony Vaio (Vista) laptop with iTunes 8. To me, the songs sound empty and even slightly distorted in some areas. Anyone else have this trouble? I've tried 192, 320 and VBR bit rates and they all seem to provide the same garbage results.

I'm looking for someone who might have some input as to why my music sounds empty and distorted. Maybe even someone I could send a file to and you could say "uhm, no, dummy, that's how it's supposed to sound, remember it's mp3 so it sucks to begin with--stop obsessing"

Please help

~c
    09-25-08 02:49 PM
    I'm no expert or audiophile but I do know more or less how the whole ripping process goes. My questions to you would be, what program are you using to "rip" music to your laptop and what are you listening to your music on after its "ripped"? My suggestion would be to research a good quality piece of ripping software. That's probably where the problem is. Then, maybe some high quality speakers or headphones. That's just what I would do. Again, I'm no expert.
    09-25-08 03:31 PM
    Something that might help is a free program called MP3gain. What this does is set the internal gain level of the MP3.

I use it and had it set at a fairly high level. The music sounded fine with cheap car stereo and high road noise, but it sounded like crap in a quiet environment on a decent stereo system.

I lowered the gain level on all of the MP3s and now they sound great (great for my ears that is)!

Like the previous poster, I'm no expert either.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-25-08 05:16 PM