A very (for myself at least!) interesting article I found on AppleInsider, written by Kevin Bostic.

Are there any other Medical Students / HCPs in this forum? What are your thoughts on that topic.

As medicine goes digital, Apple's iPad is top choice among doctors
    06-03-13 06:07 AM
    Can't speak to the medical field, but at law school there was a huge bias towards apple products because of how user friendly the OS is for the technologically disinclined. I imagine medical school is going same.
    BergerKing likes this.
    06-03-13 08:43 AM
    I'm an X-ray tech in a stand alone E.R. Everybody uses an iPhone. The exceptions being myself on a Z10, 2 other X-ray techs who are on SgIII's, the lab tech who doesn't care about her phone, and the housekeeper who is on some pay as you go phone.i had one Dr. look at my Z when I first got it, but I couldn't recommend it because the apps they use ARE NOT THERE.
    BergerKing likes this.
    06-03-13 10:24 AM
    What apps are needed that aren't there?
    06-03-13 11:17 AM
    Just finished med school and there is HUGE preference for iPads over pretty much any other tablet, primarily due to app availability and quality. With the introduction of the iPad Mini last year it was even more evident as they are easier to carry around (can fit in a white coat pocket). I see a few Android tablets and very few of us subscribed to the PlayBook since it was one of the first with a small footprint, but Apple is definitely winning this war. Some residency programs (training for newly graduated doctors in the medical specialty of their choosing) are even providing iPads as part of orientation, and some hospitals are piloting programs to integrate iPads into their medical records systems to access patient/hospital info.

Posted via CB10
    BergerKing and thecurryman like this.
    06-03-13 12:07 PM