05-10-18 07:23 AM
7,944 ... 89101112 ...
tools
  1. 1khalid's Avatar
    Yup, the 9900 was a beast of a phone. I never had one but had a few friends who did and i always wanted one. Had the 9780 then went to a Z10 at the time. There was a point that i was almost willing to ditch the z10 for the 9900 but i got the z30 and been happy with it.

    But yeah, I can't blame you for using the 9900. Even though i'm not going down that road myself, i'll live my dream through you.
    05-23-16 09:35 AM
  2. werner69's Avatar
    I have a mint 9900 locked to wind and the phone is a beauty but the problem is I don't have bis. Without it I have problems with the core functionality. Using it wifi only, which I can do on many of my other phones is hard, even with third party apps like logic mail which is a poor work around. Otherwise the keyboard is great and I LOVE small phones. Four inches is the largest I will go.
    anon(6038817) likes this.
    05-23-16 10:03 AM
  3. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    joined. At least I hope it worked.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    05-23-16 11:37 AM
  4. EFats's Avatar
    I have a mint 9900 locked to wind and the phone is a beauty but the problem is I don't have bis. Without it I have problems with the core functionality. Using it wifi only, which I can do on many of my other phones is hard, even with third party apps like logic mail which is a poor work around. Otherwise the keyboard is great and I LOVE small phones. Four inches is the largest I will go.
    Shouldn't be a problem to get BIS on there I think. I'm on Wind and have no problems using the phone. It might be that my original phone with them was a Curve...
    If you feel like you need to unload the phone, gimme a PM :-)
    05-23-16 11:47 AM
  5. anon(6038817)'s Avatar
    joined. At least I hope it worked.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    I see you on my Newfangled channel but not the Still Bold group or channel. PM me your BBM PIN and I'll get you invited to both!
    05-23-16 11:49 AM
  6. Bbnivende's Avatar
    I have a mint 9900 locked to wind and the phone is a beauty but the problem is I don't have bis. Without it I have problems with the core functionality. Using it wifi only, which I can do on many of my other phones is hard, even with third party apps like logic mail which is a poor work around. Otherwise the keyboard is great and I LOVE small phones. Four inches is the largest I will go.
    You need to stop thinking about screen size and think phone size. Most here would be happy with a Bold format phone that allows for one handed use. The ideal is 67 mm wide like a 9900 / Q10.
    05-23-16 12:59 PM
  7. anon(6038817)'s Avatar
    My 9930 is supposed to arrive by Thursday.

    I'm more excited about getting my 9930 than the Z30 I just got.

    I've been on a "retro" kick lately.

    I listen to cassette tapes in my '98 Subaru Outback on my work commute. I've been itching to type some letters out on my great-grandfather's 1953 Royal Quiet Deluxe typewriter. And lately I've been looking at turntables on Amazon.

    I really wish my dad had told me he was going to get rid of his LP collection years ago. Some of the albums he had are irreplaceable!
    anon(8063781) and Wmsi like this.
    05-23-16 03:30 PM
  8. Doug_M's Avatar
    So my new 9900 should arrive in the next day or so giving me the opportunity to use a new BlackBerry ID. I will be switching my sim between my Passport and 9900 once a week. I know having two BlackBerry ID's will mean I can have two BBM accounts which may work well for me. Are there any other advantages or disadvantages to using two BlackBerry ID's?
    05-23-16 03:31 PM
  9. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    So my new 9900 should arrive in the next day or so
    Wait is it 2012 again? Who would have thought this sentence would be typed in 2016!!

    The disadvantage I can think of is you now have to remember 2 different BBID's Remember you only get 10 tries on each Blackberry to enter them correctly for each device, or that drvice will wipe itself clean after thew 10th attempt. Be sure to write them down and for which device and keep them in a safe or somewhere secure.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    David Tyler likes this.
    05-23-16 04:18 PM
  10. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    And lately I've been looking at turntables on Amazon.

    I really wish my dad had told me he was going to get rid of his LP collection years ago. Some of the albums he had are irreplaceable!
    Ya I notice some stores selling LP's again, they have been getting pretty popular in the last few years.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    05-23-16 04:20 PM
  11. Bbnivende's Avatar
    My daily driver watch dates from 1945... pretty retro.
    anon(6038817) likes this.
    05-23-16 04:25 PM
  12. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    My daily driver watch dates from 1945... pretty retro.
    what brand? I have a 1958 Omega and I thought that was old.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    05-23-16 04:27 PM
  13. MikeLip's Avatar
    Just use an adaptor. I'm running a nano sim with an adaptor in my 9900 just fine.
    Won't work. Different services. At least that's what Verizon tells me. I can't use my LTE sim with a 9930. Is that right? or can I stick it in a 9930 and go back to the good stuff?
    05-23-16 05:01 PM
  14. anon(6038817)'s Avatar
    Won't work. Different services. At least that's what Verizon tells me. I can't use my LTE sim with a 9930. Is that right? or can I stick it in a 9930 and go back to the good stuff?
    Well if you are using a Verizon 9930 then it doesn't require a SIM at all, as it's CDMA.

    The Verizon 9930s do have a SIM slot that allows you to use GSM SIMs. I once used an AT&T SIM in a Verizon 9930 and it worked just fine.

    But you are correct, you can't use a Verizon LTE SIM in a Verizon 9930. They are not compatible.

    Now you CAN log into your Verizon account online and switch the phone on your line back and forth from a 9930 to whatever else. I have done that before and it worked brilliantly - no SIM swaps required.
    05-23-16 05:07 PM
  15. MikeLip's Avatar
    Well if you are using a Verizon 9930 then it doesn't require a SIM at all, as it's CDMA.

    The Verizon 9930s do have a SIM slot that allows you to use GSM SIMs. I once used an AT&T SIM in a Verizon 9930 and it worked just fine.

    But you are correct, you can't use a Verizon LTE SIM in a Verizon 9930. They are not compatible.

    Now you CAN log into your Verizon account online and switch the phone on your line back and forth from a 9930 to whatever else. I have done that before and it worked brilliantly - no SIM swaps required.
    Really? That's awesome! I'm not saying I disbelieve you, but can i get corroboration on that or at least some details as to what i have to do online - and do i get both voice and data?
    05-23-16 05:25 PM
  16. experiment 626's Avatar
    Really? That's awesome! I'm not saying I disbelieve you, but can i get corroboration on that or at least some details as to what i have to do online - and do i get both voice and data?
    You won't get voice & data simultaneously since the 9930 is only CDMA network equipped. However, you maybe be able to use CDMA for voice while using WiFi for the browser. Not sure. One question, when you transfer between a LTE device and a CDMA device does the LTE SIM remain active so you can plug back in to your LTE phone or is the permanently deactivated and you need a new LTE card ?
    05-23-16 06:03 PM
  17. MikeLip's Avatar
    Really? That's awesome! I'm not saying I disbelieve you, but can i get corroboration on that or at least some details as to what i have to do online - and do i get both voice and data?
    And I just talked to the Verizon rep and they verified i can do this and walked me through it! Verizon gets a lot of badmouth, but their reps have never been anything less that 100% awesome with me. Maybe I'm just lucky I just grabbed a new 9930 from the 'Bay. Can't wait! Maybe I'll grab a Storm 2 while I'm at it. Or maybe I still have one... I think I do. I may have been the only BB guy who liked that phone.
    anon(6038817) likes this.
    05-23-16 06:04 PM
  18. MikeLip's Avatar
    You won't get voice & data simultaneously since the 9930 is only CDMA network equipped. However, you maybe be able to use CDMA for voice while using WiFi for the browser. Not sure. One question, when you transfer between a LTE device and a CDMA device does the LTE SIM remain active so you can plug back in to your LTE phone or is the permanently deactivated and you need a new LTE card ?
    Simultaneous voice and data don't matter to me. The implication is that i can swap. I have about a dozen LTE SIM cards if I'm wrong, but hopefully i will be able to do this. Time to play with it and find out.
    05-23-16 06:06 PM
  19. ominaxe's Avatar
    Maybe I'll grab a Storm 2 while I'm at it. Or maybe I still have one... I think I do. I may have been the only BB guy who liked that phone.

    I loved the Storm 2. Still have mine.
    anon(8063781) and MikeLip like this.
    05-23-16 06:26 PM
  20. Cyberops's Avatar
    I have a Blackberry Q10 which is OK, but I was crazy to sell my two 9900s to go towards my Z10 and then Q10 which I have now. But I missed my 9900, so I bought two and I am really happy now!!
    05-23-16 06:47 PM
  21. Cyberops's Avatar
    I love this forum!! Great people here which is really nice!
    05-23-16 06:55 PM
  22. anon(6038817)'s Avatar
    And I just talked to the Verizon rep and they verified i can do this and walked me through it! Verizon gets a lot of badmouth, but their reps have never been anything less that 100% awesome with me. Maybe I'm just lucky I just grabbed a new 9930 from the 'Bay. Can't wait! Maybe I'll grab a Storm 2 while I'm at it. Or maybe I still have one... I think I do. I may have been the only BB guy who liked that phone.
    Ooooh, you're making me want to try a Storm 2 now...

    Newfangled | C003C2D50
    anon(8063781) and MikeLip like this.
    05-23-16 06:58 PM
  23. anon(8063781)'s Avatar
    I loved the Storm 2. Still have mine.
    Me too. It's my alarm clock / insomnia device (for Tapatalk and podcasts).
    05-23-16 07:07 PM
  24. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    Ladies and Gentleman, tonite's episode has been brought to you by The Twilight Zone where everything old is suddenly cool and new again and we warn you it may become addictive enough to inhibit social interaction physically due to physical keyboards and tiny screens but not tiny fear of things past.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    MikeLip likes this.
    05-23-16 08:10 PM
  25. anon(9721108)'s Avatar
    I love this forum!! Great people here which is really nice!
    Welcome to the Twilight Zone My main device was an iphone and I kind of planned to keep it as a spare at first, and use the 9900 as a backup, but this changed rapidly and now the Sim card has been in it since Christmas 2015.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    05-23-16 08:25 PM
7,944 ... 89101112 ...

Similar Threads

  1. Weird behavior with my Z30, any clues?
    By the_radeon in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-19-16, 08:56 PM
  2. Where do I download a functioning version of Viber for 10.3.2.2836?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-16, 06:25 PM
  3. VIDEO:9900 New Apps and Wifi Speed Test
    By Ralph Morgotch in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-05-16, 12:11 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-16, 11:06 AM
  5. Most of the links don't have anything?
    By Butterlettuce Dibs in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-16, 05:36 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD