Can someone please help me understand why developers are refusing to build apps for the playbook? I'm not a developer (yet) but it seems like iOS and android are more dissimilar than one would think given that iOS apps are mostly written in objective C, and android apps are coded in some type of java.

It seems almost like most android apps made in java could be ported to BB 7.1 now instead of iOS.

And with much more reason to the PB since it has the android runtime. I know Alec is working tirelessly to get developers on board, but at times it's frustrating that we're being left out in the cold and now that omgpop has been bought out, it seems much less likely that we will get the draw something app. At least not soon enough before the fad is gone. I could care less for it, but we need more developers like Neil Burlock to make great apps for PB.

What is a normal turnaround for an average app?
    03-22-12 02:26 AM
    hard to define an "average app"

but the reason developers are not jumping on to the RIM wagon is return of investment, in most cases the time to develop for multiple platforms, and maintain support for multiple platforms makes developers not want to bother with RIM who at 3rd place in the market share game are not giving the best odds of getting return.

Plus you have fanboy's of platforms, I know a few Apple developers who wont develop for anything except for Apple, They would like nothing more than to see RIM and Android fold up, and would not do anything to help them sell a single devic
    app_Developer likes this.
    03-22-12 08:01 AM
    Funny, before OS2 was introduced, RIM was promising the release of thousands of apps, as if they were just waiting in the wings. Were they not telling the truth about those apps, did developers just change their minds, or did RIM just think all they had to do was offer free PBs to devs? Hmmm...
    yanicmb likes this.
    03-22-12 09:08 AM