Just a quick question to the developers on these forums, why is there not that many apps that offer a free trial.
    I have no idea if the app is brilliant or complete junk and have to wait or ask on these forums to see what it's like.

Is a trial hard to implement on playbook apps?.
    06-04-12 06:31 AM
    Agreed,

Would be nice to at least have a 3 day trial where possible.
    I have bought a lot of apps just to find out that they will not do all that I would like it to do, I'm sure that if developers would add in a trial, more of their apps would be sold.
    06-04-12 09:31 AM
    I agree with at least an 1 day trail ! But, the reason the MIGHT don't do it, is that every developer wants to make a cool app, very understandable and easy to use. So you don't have to think about it twice !
    06-04-12 09:43 AM
    Hi twdawson,

As a small developer I did find it a challenge to produce a free trial version of my app. I do have a trial version of my main app now, but there are a couple of challenges with releasing a trial version:

1. Designing the trial app so that it doesn't lead to easy pirating of the app.
    2. Managing the different versions on App World. RIM's documentation is sadly lacking in this area.
    3. Deciding how long the trial should be. My trial is 30 days, but some apps only need a shorter time to get a sense of what it does.

I have seen multiple business models for using free trials. Deciding which model to follow can be a challenge as well. Some of the models include:

* the free trial is exactly the same as the paid version, except time-limited
    * the free trial has a limited subset of features of the paid version ('freemium')
    * the free trial is exactly the same as the paid version, except has ads

My two cents,
    Last edited by squished18; 06-04-12 at 09:46 AM. Reason: Added comment
    06-04-12 09:43 AM
    Hi twdawson,