So it seems like a lot of vendors are saying that they will wait and see how Playbook pans out before they make an app. Listening to them, and thinking back around the time when PlayBook was announced, I got the impression that developing apps for PB would be much easier compared to developing apps for BB phones. I am not a developer at all, so hence the silly question: how long does it take to make an app like for instance Sugarsync, Orb? Is it easy to port code over or does it need to be written from bottom up? How long did it take EA to port the newly awesome game over to PB?
    08-23-11 01:18 PM
    Currently, the only SDK available to mere mortal developers is Adobe Air/Actionscript. Since current BB apps are written in Java, it is necessary to re-write from the ground up in order to port the code to PB. Any but the most trivial apps need to be re-designed to reflect differences in SDK implementations. For example, Air does not offer threads so the programmer needs to design workarounds when multitasking is required. On the other hand, actionscript has some nice tweening capabilities and other features that simplify animations.

The bottom line is, that it is a lot of work to port apps from one platform to another. Each platform has its its own quirks that introduce unique challenges to the developer, Time needed to port an app depends entirely on the complexity of the app and which features are being utilized and the availability of third party libraries and frameworks.

The current Air SDK has some serious limitations. E.g. any BB app that uses Bluetooth cannot be ported to PB because the current Air SDK does not support BT Profiles. Same goes for the USB functionality and sensors (compass and gyroscope).

The NDK does not have as many restrictions and the advantages are clear with respect to apps like the EA game