no this is true. Thats why skype doesnt work with the beta 2.0 - rim blocked the apps access to the camera and voice protocols because skype competes with their video chat player.

you have no ieea how dumb rim can be, do you?
    Rumor has it that access was ONLY blocked for the beta, and won't be on the actual release.
    02-17-12 04:02 AM
    While I have absolutely no use for Skype, I still think it's one of the critically needed apps for the PlayBook. I don't use it, but I work in the tech sector and see how it gets used in business all the time. And I know plenty of people who use it for keeping in touch when living away from home.

I look at it just like I look at the native email client.... personally I don't need it, but it not being there is a big black mark against the PlayBook.
    02-17-12 04:16 AM
    I don't understand why so many people need Tampax tampons. I have never used one in my life and haven't even used Always pads.
    Reminds me of the old 1970's joke......

Little boy goes into an old chemists shop
    "Hello little boy what can i do for you ?" asks the Old Chemist
    "i'd like a box of Tampons please" replies the little boy
    "what ?" says the Chemist
    "I'd like a box of Tampons please ?" repeats the little boy
    "How old are you little boy ?" asks the chemist
    "Ten years old" replies the little boy
    "Ten years old !" says the chemist
    "Ten years old and you want a box of tampons little boy ?" asks the chemist
    "Yes" says the boy
    "Why , little boy , would you want a box of Tampons ?" asks the chemist
    "I want to run , swim , play tennis........" says the boy

:-)
    02-17-12 05:11 AM
    So, what is the reason for RIM not allowing the use of Skype. I would think it would certainly enhance the versatility of the PB and therefore result in an increase in sales. Any thoughts?
    02-17-12 06:16 AM