if you are looking at price points or ideas for apps, check out what is available on the android market.
    There are so good ones
    meltbox360 likes this.
    01-12-12 08:02 PM
    currently using mapdroyd with OS 2.0 beta, it works well. Shows the GPS marker on the map, but no search, direction, navigation, voice turn-by-turn etc.
    Herve5 likes this.
    01-12-12 08:09 PM
    How many people here have macs that they use and would really want/need a mac version of such a program?
    I'm an analyst by trade so let me help on this one.

My company has approx 2,000,000 downloads per release of our main software package for teachers. About 85% of our customer base is in the USA.

Of those just under 13% are Mac OS X users with 10.5+.
    42% percent are Windows XP users.
    7% are Windows Vista users
    34% are Windows 7 users
    ... and the last 4% is Linux and other.

On Corporate side
    7% are Mac OS X users (sorry apple fans but they really are only popular in coffee shops)
    of that 7%,
    ---52% report needing a Windows VM/Boot Camp
    ---27% report using boot camp and never touching the Mac side
    ---82% expect lack of parity between mac and windows apps
    XP is at about 32%
    Vista is about 12%
    Windows 7 is about 48%
    Linux and other is the remainder.

But that business segment us much smaller sample size.

So i always assume a Mac users are at 13% (high estimate).
    I assume XP and 7 to be about the same about 40%.

Ed.
    meltbox360 likes this.
    01-13-12 02:31 AM
    KermEd - interesting that that many are still using XP. I'm sure MS is not amused.
    meltbox360 likes this.
    01-13-12 08:38 AM
    I'm an analyst by trade so let me help on this one.

My company has approx 2,000,000 downloads per release of our main software package for teachers. About 85% of our customer base is in the USA.

Of those just under 13% are Mac OS X users with 10.5+.
    42% percent are Windows XP users.
    7% are Windows Vista users