Is anyone interested in an nntp (aka usenet) news reader? I plan to release a native client via app world by the end of June - it'll probably cost a couple of quid..

Caveat: because of the prohibitive nature of blackberry's file sharing policies, it probably won't have binary support (at least to begin with).

Cheers,
    Ben.
    Herve5 likes this.
    05-01-13 05:49 AM
    These days I'm more after a real RSS agregator (I mean, one where you can handle your source feeds, add filters, lock / save / export posts...) but I'd also appreciate an usenet reader -I thought about the RSS because feed handling is quite close IMHO...
    H.
    05-01-13 12:38 PM
    That's fair enough... to be honest, I'm a hobby coder and I use usenet fairly regularly and given the lack of readers thought I'd code my own..Its been a good practice experience.. Love the playbook, and the Qt api is fantastic. Its a true shame that other developers haven't adopted it so much..
    05-01-13 02:32 PM
    Is anyone interested in an nntp (aka usenet) news reader? I plan to release a native client via app world by the end of June - it'll probably cost a couple of quid..

Caveat: because of the prohibitive nature of blackberry's file sharing policies, it probably won't have binary support (at least to begin with).

Cheers,
    Ben.
    Is this still on the table for release?

A threaded nntp reader is exactly what I could use on my phone for a couple of newsgroups I follow that have proved far more valuable than any browser based forum in that particular field of expertise.
    12-05-13 11:09 AM
    Ben, are you still thinking of developing a NNTP newsreader?
    nealjane1 likes this.
    12-22-13 04:42 PM