I'm a web developer and I have a few webworks apps on the PB. One I charge for. I'm making peanuts on it. Why do I do it? B/c it helps me learn an upcoming environment and put it into practice. Like this i stay ahead in my full time job. The fact that I make a few dollars a day is nice, but at the end of the day the money I've made I probably just broke even. The 70-30 split really suks when your not making large, and yes I will still have to pay taxes on it all. :S
    Whats the name of your app? I would like to see it. I hope you made it the best it can be!! thats how you get noticed. Look at xlabz they are making great apps and people notice them the work and look great. When i look for apps I siphon through so many crappy ones. What i do is judge right away from the sample images given how the UI looks. Im pretty sure thats what most people do as well (includes your customers) so not only does it have to look good but has to function properly. I havent looked much into RIM documentation but apples strict guideline that deal with UI are awesome I recommend developers reading them. Apple has pretty much set a standard for how apps should look and function. If you notice a lot of andriod apps are ugly. So how it looks is HUGE!!!
    catwoman66 likes this.
    03-27-12 10:34 AM
    I think you don't have to pay taxes if you make under $400 for the year (I'm not completely sure how that works).
    The 70-30 split is the same when you make more, I don't see where the amount you make impacts whether or not it sucks.
    Sorry I meant it sucks b/c RIM used to give out the best share of all the markets before at 80-20. They only recently changed to 70-30 like the rest, I believe about 1-2yrs ago.
    03-27-12 11:24 AM