I have this crazy awesome app idea for the playbook but don't know how to make it? can someone please give me instructions on how to make an app.
    04-03-12 07:51 PM
    Unfortunately, programming isnt quite the same as it used to be... So its more difficult than just sending over a hello world tutorial.

https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/devzone/

But start with this link. There are several languages, each with advantages and disadvantages. Personally I use Flash Builder, but Native SDK is better and HTML5 (assuming your app can run in it without speed issues)is of course best (portability).

But your first step is to read, read, read. Download IDEs and start programming. Everything you need is on google, in the rim api helpfiles or the IDE helpfiles including samples.

Ed
    suzieque and llllBULLSEYE like this.
    04-03-12 08:15 PM
    I am interested too. I have some minor knowledge in java.
    I know how to build switches and use strings and arrays and stuff like that,
    but I dounno how to build windows and I dunno how to build that for blackberry.
    Has anyone hints for that?
    04-03-12 08:25 PM
    I'll be honest, I've always been self taught and all languages are the same - its just the syntax and methodology that changes.

I.E. An array is an array, a string is a string (or sequence of chars, or a sequence of integers leading to ascii chars as stored in ram), and a function is a function.

Just start at the top link, pick the language that suits your needs, and follow the RIM tutorials.

Every language, the logic code is the same.. (or a feature is not supported)

I.e.

function main():null {
    var myString:String = ”helloworld";
    showText(myString);
    }

private function showText(inString:String):void {
    trace(”Input: ”+ inString);
    }

Is similar to:

Sub Main
    Dim myString as String
    myString = "Hello World"
    showString(myString)
    End Sub

Function showString(inString as String)
    msgbox inString
    End Function