Major Thanks go out to HaTaX for the vids on how to install and test the beta (for want of a better phrase) - Android Player.

Having installed it, and had a play with it for a few hours now, Im absolutely staggered at how this is going to change playbook and its usage.

Ive been hunting all over for a decent (free) RDP client, and (Putty-like) client for PB for ages now - and within minutes, Ive got both up and running on Android player, working like a charm.

I work in IT for a corrugated packaging company, and Ive fought against the Ipad invasion since the turn of the year, in favour of waiting for playbook (since we run BlackBerry's, it made sense to wait for Playbook) - and now, my users can access all our manufacturing systems from outside the network!

Thank you RIM, you deserve some praise after all the bashing you've had of late - if you can get this out to the mass market now....
    stevejb, HaTaX and southlander like this.
    08-08-11 08:21 AM
    Exactly! I find the option of being able to run Android Apps a huge bonus. I'm getting tired of the responses from several companies saying "we currently have no plans... blah blah". I know it is difficult budget/timewise for developers embrace a new platform where the userbase is a fraction of their existing platforms.

So without the Android Player that would leave me as a PlayBook owner in the dark. I would be refreshing App world everyday in hopes that some developer would take pity on us and develop a PlayBook port of their App.

But with the Android Player I now have a choice. I can find the missing Apps, that would make my experience better, on the Android Market.

I'm currently using these Apps:

RDP (For working remotely)
    Trillian (For chatting with my friends on multiple networks. History synced between all devices)
    Overdrive Media Console (For ebooks/audiobooks from my local library)

I can't wait for the official release.