I am looking for a free app for a GPS program. I am a service tech and I travel to 8 - 10 different sites each day. I am looking for a simple one- all I want to do is plug in my location and the destination address and then have a map where the GPS will navigate my route and follow me as I go. The GPS on the BB now does this, however, the start of navigation always has a "balloon" with instructions in it which covers up the map. Since I can't get rid of this annoying thing, I am looking for another app which will not have this. Thanks for your help.
    06-10-12 09:18 AM
    The best one I have found is the Android one sideloaded. On my playbook it shows up as latitude. It has the ability to precache maps, so without a data connection you can still use it as a GPS. It's on this webpage Good e-Reader Android App Store - Playbook Android App Store its called Google maps for playbook under the travel and leisure section.

It also has traffic updates and satellite layering. It's also a little glitchy, but is great if you don't have a data connection.

Hope it helps!
    angel_esq likes this.
    06-10-12 10:21 AM
    The best one I have found is the Android one sideloaded. On my playbook it shows up as latitude. It has the ability to precache maps, so without a data connection you can still use it as a GPS. It's on this webpage Good e-Reader Android App Store - Playbook Android App Store its called Google maps for playbook under the travel and leisure section.

It also has traffic updates and satellite layering. It's also a little glitchy, but is great if you don't have a data connection.

Hope it helps!