Hi everybody,

my name is Bram Vandewalle and I am a student developer who just got started developing applications for RIM's PlayBook. My first two applications are Mindmaps and Comics. Today I would like to take a moment of your time to present you Comics, the very first comic book reader for the BlackBerry PlayBook.

Description:

Your shiny BlackBerry� PlayBook™ is the perfect device for reading comic books and now you can. Comics is a comic reader specifically designed for the PlayBook.

Start reading your comics everywhere and download the Comics application. It will allow you to escape reality wherever, whenever and even save the page your at if you have to run from that other dimension.

Features:

•Opens all .CBZ, .CBR and .ZIP comic books
    •Stores your current page if you close the application
    •Works both in landscape and portrait, so hold it the way you like
    •Different view modes to read the way you want to
    •Easily find and open your comic book files
    •Nice looking library
    •Swipe through your pages
    •Pinch-to-zoom

Links:

App World - FAQ

I welcome you all to give as much feedback as possible if you decide to try out my app. I realise that gesture support is a pressing need, but I am waiting on RIM to ship my developer device. I am currently working on adding CBR support and looking to setup a server to download free comics on your device using my app.
    Last edited by zezke; 03-13-12 at 03:25 AM.
    04-18-11 02:27 PM
    Hi zezke,

Thanks for posting. I saw your entry in App World and was actually thinking of contacting you to ask some of these questions. I have a decent size library of comics and this was one of the first kind of apps I thought would be fantastic once the PB was announced. I've used ComicReader.mobi on my Torch ... and while it does a fair enough job, it's pretty slow and BBs are just too small to read comics on.