I am new to BlackBerry and the Playbook is new to me. The recent drop in price made it irresistible. I have now started to populate my PB with apps and am becoming rapidly disappointed. It seems that BB has no quality control over what apps appear in the app store: I wanted an app like Keeper (Apple Store app) on the Ipod Touch for saving password information.

I tried using Password Wallet on the PB...SQL error. Remove, reinstall a few times: same error. As recommended by this forum, I contacted the developer (Infinite Appz). They responded very quickly and using their suggestion (deleting the .db file before reinstalling), got it working. Unadvertized was the fact that the freeware version is limited to only five "cards".

I tried using another app to do the same that claimed it was free. After entering a bunch of data a popup shows that the app is not free but is only a free trial and it's going to cost me $29.99 a year for a subscription. You must be kidding.

I used the PB on the weekend and had it fully charged and then on battery in Stand By for several hours and then went to use it and all I could get out of it was a little over an hour before the batter was dead. This is bad, bad, bad. BB has to do much better if they have any hope in some success.

Believe me, I am not an Apple fan (I can't stand their controlling philosophy) but no issues like this came up on my wife's iPad. I can't wait for the new BB OS to come out. BTW, How functional is the beta 2.0? Are apps available for it now?

Thanks.
    Last edited by a4guy; 01-17-12 at 01:18 PM.
    01-16-12 08:59 AM
    Sounds like you need to do more reading on here. Good luck
    01-16-12 09:27 AM