You can not imagine how exciting this is. As a chemist, I could easily connect to the E-notebook application running in my office, with a form factor easy to take into a lab, or harsh environment.
    This is a great use for the PB! I thought I'd just point out real quick that the ability to take a single application into a VNC window is something that CAN be done, although I'm not sure how it would all work with the PB... Ideally you'd use a VNC server that could export an application to it's own port and then connect to it.

Might take a look at this solution and see if it works with your chemical engineering application:

MetaVNC -- a window-aware VNC
    05-06-11 11:08 PM
    You need a VNC server installed on your target machine. I would recommend going with TightVNC or RealVNC. It is very easy to download and install. We are working on documentation for aVNC and will have it up soon. For access outside the local wifi you will need to setup port forwarding from your router and maybe static IP. More information will be in documentation which we are going to get up ASAP!
    Have to say i am loving the app... but maybe you or someone else in this thread would be able to assist me.

ive tried both tightvnc and realvnc and cannot seem to access my computer over the internet. i set up port forwarding for 5800-5900 as per the faq.

i tried connecting to my external ip address as well as setting up a no-ip.com static domain... neither connect. am i missing a step?

This app works great for me on my own wifi for the record...
    05-06-11 11:26 PM
    I've not yet used a VNC server so pardon the dumb questions. I've got 4 computers at home on a single router. The router has a static ip. Is there a way to run a VNC server on each of the computers? If so how do I address one of them? And if I have a VNC server running how much of a resource hog is it when idle?