I was on the BlackBerry Developer website,(Webworks Github) and noticed this, in reference to working with unavailable API's:

"It’s also completely extensible; If support for that one API that you need doesn’t already exist, you can add it yourself."

What does this imply? Are devs going to be able to create their own API's

I'm not a developer....So I can't decipher what this implies

Search for the highest text in the web link.

BlackBerry WebWorks
    Last edited by missing_K-W; 02-18-12 at 05:59 PM.
    02-18-12 05:55 PM
    Webworks is open source.
    02-18-12 06:51 PM
    Developers could always create their own APIs, so long as they were building on other, presumably lower level, APIs.

What you read is simply referring to the fact that when WebWorks is lacking a particular API which you might want to use, such as the ability to control the LEDs, you could write code at a lower level -- on top of existing APIs that allow that for, say, in native code -- and expose that to the WebWorks code as an "extension".

When I mucked up the stuff that let BuzzStarField get the magnetometer working in the interim release of What's Up, I used existing low-level filesystem APIs to read the raw data from a device called /dev/sensors/mag (or something like that) and after some contortions exposed the results in "an API" which he could call from his code. It's crude, and not something you'd want to release to the masses, but it's an API and it works, though with serious limitations that can't be overcome using just AIR code.

In 2.0, RIM has implemented a nice, clean, fast API without the same limitations. They've also added the ability to write "extensions" for AIR apps, which will let someone write an AIR extension which provides a new magnetometer API for BuzzStarField's app, running as native code talking to a new lower-level API which RIM has added in 2.0.