There's a problem with Adobe Reader for Playbook in that it doesn't read any drawn objects on PDFs produced in AutoCAD by their own built-in PDF writer. Only text is visible. I have years worth of legacy drawings which I was planning to carry on the Playbook but this Adobe Reader is literally useless. Does anyone know of any alternatives?

Thanks
    03-22-12 05:28 PM
    I'm a realtor and I've noticed that with some scanned surveys. I've just converted them to JPGs and they show up just fine, except I have to scout around for the appropriate folder. That might be a work-around for you. BTW, changing them to JPG via Photoshop is MUCH better than saving them as a JPG through Acrobat - better resolution, which is probably what you'll need.

Hope this helps. If it does, come back and tell us so it might help others as well.
    bass_mark00 likes this.
    03-22-12 05:39 PM
    Thanks for the tip, I'll probably have to do that as a workaround until I find a permanent solution but I've got thousands of PDFs drawn over the past 10 years and I don't want to have to convert them. Adobe have really screwed this one up.
    03-22-12 05:52 PM
    Well, the good news is that you can do a batch-convert thru Photoshop and voila, tomorrow morning, all your drawings are JPGs. Not trying to make light of your situation, but at least this one is workable.

As far as Adobe screwing it up, let's think about it for a sec. To be able to render such large drawings in Reader for the PB would require a lot more space and juice for a version of Reader than what we want to commit to for our PB. Most folks just carry text PDF files and the PB reader is great for that. They can't fulfill all our desires. LOL You have to admit: your situation is quite unique and probably very rare. Not trying to be flippant.
    Last edited by TOphotog; 03-22-12 at 06:05 PM.
    03-22-12 06:02 PM