Apple is going to make Swift 2 open source for Linux. In the news.
    Objective C, what most iOS apps are currently written with is open source, also. However, the iOS user interface elements are proprietary. Any iOS app developer will tell you that making iOS apps is 90% about manipulating the UI elements.
    06-11-15 02:50 PM
    While Swift 2 being opened up is very exciting.... we have seen from how Developers ignore BB10, Amazon, even Microsoft that just because creating a apps for more than one platform is possible or even easy, doesn't mean that Developers will do it. Just like HTML5 isn't the solution to "officially" close the App Gap, neither will all these new developer tools (Google also release a number of new tools) that allow them to build one app and then publish it in any format. There has to be a willingness to support the platform to begin with.
    Yes I agree. I am not a developer so I do not know what it means when Apple says open for Linux. Probably the one app that I would like to have is Facetime but that seems very unlikely.

Posted via CB10
    06-11-15 02:50 PM
    Objective C, what most iOS apps are currently written with is open source, also. However, the iOS user interface elements are proprietary. Any iOS app developer will tell you that making iOS apps is 90% about manipulating the UI elements.
    That's right, plus all the other frameworks that are part of iOS for everything from location to animations to networking and so on.

Those frameworks are proprietary to Apple. So getting swift and the runtime running on QNX doesn't magically get you iOS apps. Just like porting swift to Linux doesn't magically get you all Mac software on your Ubuntu laptop.

Sent from my iPhone 6 using Tapatalk
    sentimentGX4 and Avenzuno like this.
    06-11-15 02:56 PM