RIM shares rise to 13-month high on strategic review hopes - Yahoo! News

If you ask me, Thor saying that he's still open to licensing BB10 is just saying "Yeah, I'm a professional businessman, and I'm not going to withhold licensing BB10 if there's a sound business case for it..."

and the stock goes up, supposedly in response.

Who are these people who think this is a good idea for the near future? If BB10 OS is the astounding success I expect it to be, could they get a hundred dollars per device to license it out, without manufacturing the hardware? No? But if they DO manufacture the hardware TOO, they can get upwards of $200 profit per device? So... why would they license the software for, say, $20 per device and then not get the profit from the hardware sale also?

I just don't understand why, when we're just DAYS away from the BB10 launch that some thought RIM wouldn't survive to see, there is still some component of what is "the market" that thinks a breakup or licensing of the software is a good idea. Why, then, in their entire history, has Apple kept their OS to themselves and refused to license it? Because owning the entire platform from b@lls to bones is a sound strategy.

Arg.
    Last edited by lorax1284; 01-22-13 at 02:36 PM.
    01-21-13 03:25 PM
    Its not new news...but it does remind shorts that RIM could sell something to a company, possibly in a bidding war, and the timing of that could be any time.
    01-21-13 03:31 PM
    I also read today that they may no longer be making their own hardware down the road.

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
    01-21-13 03:34 PM
    I also read today that they may no longer be making their own hardware down the road.

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
    Like licensing or partnering, that is a possibility that is open, but not a sure thing. As was stated by Thor a while ago, they aren't ruling out any option that could help the success of RIM and BB10.
    01-21-13 03:38 PM