For those who haven't read it, I thought this would be an interesting news story to discuss: My thoughts on the BlackBerry Q2 results released this morning | CrackBerry.com

Two really interesting things from my POV:
    "First of all, the published numbers are worse than they indicated last Friday, the date of their layoff announcement. The pre-announcement was certainly truthful by saying the GAAP loss was close to a billion dollars. What they didnt tell us until this morning is that the pre-tax loss was actually $1.44 billion. Im not a tax expert, so when I looked at last weeks pre-announcement I thought that, excluding the Z10 inventory write down, they were pretty close to break even. Thats not the case. They are bleeding badly."

And secondly:
    "Another bad sign for the company is the consistent weakness across all geographical regions. Lets look at some numbers:

North America sales are down 46% from last quarter.
    Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) sales are down 49% from last quarter
    Latin American sales are down 56% from last quarter.
    Asia Pacific sales are down 47% from last quarter.

Thats a very consistent drop in sales!
    "

This second point is very telling. On these forums we've seen a lot of blame heaped on american consumers, american carriers, etc. It's complete rubbish. All around the world people have been abandoning BlackBerry. All across the carriers (some who did push out releases fast, some who didn't). All across different styles and spends of marketing dollars (here where I live there are TONS of BlackBerry Z/Q10 posterboards) and different media (multilingual). And it didn't make a lick of difference.

The one constant in all this: the product. It was never the carrier, the marketing, the Americans, the media, the government conspiracy. The failure has simply been all along, the product.
    09-27-13 07:08 PM