01-12-15 03:15 PM
250 ... 78910
tools
    I'll caveat this by saying that I'm not an App developer, but I have been a developer and led software teams in my past...

It not the coding that is the major cost of getting BBM running on WP. Obviously cutting code isn't zero-cost but it's the cost of maintenance of multiple versions on multiple platforms, testing on multiple platforms, bug fixing (some global bugs, some platform specific), and the costs associated with adding new features to distinct codebases on multiple platforms (plus the costs of testing, bug-fixing, etc on each new version of BBM - on each platform - that is released) ... that really adds to the cost of development.

As I've said above, I actually agree with BB's decision to only develop xBBM for iOS and Android because (IMO) they simply haven't got the money or resources to fund a development for WinPhone whilst they're busy sorting out the reported bugs, and adding features, on those other two platforms. I remain struck by the irony of blaming low WinPhone market share as the excuse BB have given for taking that decision, but I do think it's the correct decision.
    I can somewhat agree with what you're saying. Well, more accurately, I understand the stance you're taking. However, from my experiences with development projects, I can't help but feel that the current project structure should already mitigate a substantial portion of any WP development costs. WP BBM development should be an extension of the current BBM/xBBM project infrastructure, much of it utilizing what is already in place.
    01-22-14 03:06 PM