12-09-13 12:39 AM
26 12
tools
    12-05-13 01:29 AM
    I'm not an expert. But my understanding is bes10 is quite competitive price wise. Just doing some casual looking a while back I believe the software itself was free and you purchased per device licences, for a bb10 phone the cost is a one time $99, for android and ios it is $99 every year. With that though afaik they are the only mdm to offer secure workspaces on the ios/android platform. Now obviously this doesn't take into account anything else that needs to be upgraded/server costs but afaik they pretty much all share this type of cost.

Someone can correct me if I am misinterpreting things since I havnt actually gone through with the process but that's the way I read it from their website.

Posted via CB10
    12-05-13 03:00 AM
    Check some of the other MDM providers... Airwatch chargers either $40 a year subscription or a $50 per device perpetual with a $10 per year maintenance fee. Wouldn't make much of a difference on 10 or 20 devices, but with several hundred or thousand devices....

To in some areas BES or Blackberry Advanced data plans cost more than standard plans, so this can be an additional cost.

It comes down to what your needs are, and how much you are willing to spend. Some MDM system are all online, no servers, no installation, no highly trained IT person.... jus sign up and go thru a few easy installation screens and poof - you are managing devices. For a small company with 10 - 30 devices, it is a no brainer.

Five, Six years ago, BlackBerry was pretty much it, and when it comes to NSA proof security, they still are. But for Bob's lawn care with 10 employees or Jean's Trucking Company with a 1000 drivers all over the country - these cheaper and simpler system might be a better option.

The point is there are OPTIONS - most any company Big or Small, is going to shop around today and find what fits their needs.
    kbz1960 likes this.
    12-05-13 09:34 AM