Hi everyone. I'm a newbie and I was just wondering with the recession and gas prices skyrocketing if I'm the only one without a data plan. I would love to have data, but it's not a neccesity for me right now. Any one else in my boat?
    10-05-08 09:51 AM
    its not a need at the moment but i do think if you want to use your bb to its fullest a data plan is sure worth it
    welcome to cb
    10-05-08 09:55 AM
    I think it depends on your needs, as bx2md said!

I use my Curve for both Business and personal, so I use the data. I am also on VZW and if you get a BB you have to get the data.
    10-05-08 10:11 AM
    My old BB was on a phone-only plan. You do lose out on the novelties of a BlackBerry (like pushed email, GPS maps, etc.). Some carriers will charge you a pay-per-use data rate if you choose to go surfing on the internet (but be careful as some of their mobile browsing packages won't let you use a BB device and you end up paying more for data usage).

But as a pure phone, SMS texting and organizer, it's still a great device.
    10-05-08 10:39 AM
    A BB with no data is just being held back! Mine is for work so I have data, can't imagine not having it!
    10-05-08 10:44 AM
    Well, I have to fill up my tank every four days, so my blackberry with no data is working just fine for me. I'm not much of a internet person anyway, I think I may be the only person in the world without a myspace page.
    10-05-08 01:45 PM
    Hey I have no myspace either!! I do have internet on my bb though.....could not live without it.
    10-05-08 01:54 PM
    Gotta have a data plan. Without it a BlackBerry is just a phone.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-05-08 03:56 PM
    No myspace page for me either but I can't imagine using my CB without internet on it.