Hello,

My spouse, two kids, and I live in the US and are rising blackberry (BB) users. What I mean by 'rising' is that we have ordered the BB phones but they have not yet arrived. I am a professional, don't own a business, a GNU/Linux enthusiast, and use smart phones for personal communications. The same goes for my immediate family members.

The BB Priv will be my fourth smart phone since 2009 and first one based on Android. My previous smart phones were Palm Pre (2009-2010), Nokia N900 (2010-2013), and FirefoxOS Flame (2013-2016). The BB Priv will be the second smart phone for my wife, who currently uses a FirefoxOS Flame; and first smart phone for my daughter (a first year college student who currently uses a flip phone). The BB Priv will be a second smart phone for my son (a senior in high school). He currently uses a small $50 Android 2.2 (Froyo) WiFi only smart phone. We are not your typical family. My wife and I use and raised our two children on GNU/Linux systems. Our children are exposed to Windows (sometimes Apple too) at school, and more recently ChromeOS, as well as through friends. They prefer operating system that they are most familiar, which currently is GNU/Linux. So, when choosing a smart phones, Windows and Apple products were not desired by any of us.