hello guys,

first i just want to say that this forum looks awesome! with a wealth of knowledge/info and helpful people. =) i am very excited to join the CB family and get my addiction on.

i am very new to blackberrys in general, having just bought a pearl 8120. so far all i have done was add contacts into my phonebook.

now i started reading some FAQs and articles here on increasing available memory and upgrading OS. and my question is, is upgrading the OS something that you veterans recommend as one of the first things to do? my provider is t-mobile and they shipped it with 4.3, and i am not sure if i should get familiar with my BB first and then upgrade the OS later, or just upgrade now. not sure if this is something that's more along the lines of, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." type of deal.

another question, since 8120 does not have GPS capability, is BB Maps useless to me? it came preinstalled by t-mobile. i plan on installing google maps since i saw that as one of the recommended free apps.

any help is appreciated! =)
    10-30-08 11:22 AM
    Welcome to CB!

It depends how comfortable you are with upgrading. Personally, I waited a couple of weeks before I upgraded my 8120 and after I did, I downgraded it back to 4.3. The version of 4.5 I upgraded to (can't remember the full version) was very buggy.

Have you read the upgrade downgrade thread in my signature? Great info here.

Good Luck!
    10-30-08 11:29 AM
    Welcome to CB. Probably best to familiarize yourself with the phone for a bit, keep reading more here on CB and then later on, after you make a back_up (contacts, apps etc), download a new OS, then sure...

http://forums.crackberry.com/f3/prop...ocedure-53359/

Without GPS you can still use BB maps, it gives you a general idea where you are via cell tower triangulation, usually within 1900 meters (1900 yards) Just over a mile. You can always remove BB Maps or any other app with your Blackberry Desktop Manager.