My 8130 pearl is arriving via Fedex from Verizon today to replace my work phone. I've never used a Blackberry before, only played with the ones my coworkers have. I do not intend to spend tons of time on it, I want to get more out of it than just a phone and email resource.

Questions:
    1) When you go to google.com, it asks if you want regular google, or google for blackberrys. If I choose google for blackberrys, how is this different than the app available from google I have to download and install? Can't I just use google for blackberrys and add to my favorites in the browser?

2) Like above, there are yahoo and gmail apps (for example), how are these different than just adding a link to favorites in my browser?

Is there a list of blackberry friendly links? For example, I visit timezone.com (a watch website). When I go there, how do I know if it is a blackberry specific page loading, or the normal internet site I would get from my computer? I'm sure someone can help clear this up for me.

Thank you in advance, Crackberry is a great rosource of info so far in my 2 days of looking.
    09-26-08 10:43 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Wireless Application Protocol, (WAP):

A WAP browser provides all of the basic services of a computer based web browser but simplified to operate within the restrictions of a mobile phone, such as its smaller view screen. WAP sites are websites written in, or dynamically converted to, WML (Wireless Markup Language) and accessed via the WAP browser.

Some sites, Google is a good example, support the normal internet protocall and WAP. The advantage of WAP is improved preformance on a mobile device.

If the site features frames or Flash content, it will not be useable on a mobile device. Often they will provide for a co-existing WAP site for that job.

The difference is pretty dramatic.

This site is an excellent example. You can use the regular HTTP site with an Internet Browser or the WAP site with the WAP optimized Browser.