Watch out, it's a long one. I have to admit -- I've never found a phone (including the Jesusph..er, iPhone, that I went and joined a forum to rave about.)

So, here's my little story. I picked up the new (sadly 2G) Curve 8900 and I've never used a BlackBerry before today. I'm admittedly computer/tech-savvy and had always leaned towards Apple because I use their computer products. Well, after getting so unbelievably fed up with AT&T's customer service that I had to leave, iPhone or not, I ended up at my old friend T-Mobile.

Now, this was a customer-service based decision, as I had had them before and they are great from my experience. Also, the newer Curve had just hit, reviews of the Storm were mostly saying still glitchy, and ATT's Bold was just not an option for obvious reasons.

Anyway, I've spent hours fiddling with the 8900, and I've got everything I want working. It's fantastic. Even an ssh client, which is great. Havent tried syncing it yet on Linux, we'll see. Camera is a little getting used to, probably because it's got a lot more control than the janky iPhone camera.

It's got just as much fit and finish as the iPhone, I'm not wholly locked into the Apple ecosystem, I even copied my old ringtones over USB no sweat (and some initial documents and videos). Everything just works, except a minor glitch or two with Documents, but meh. Overall I think I've used more messaging on this device in the past two hours than I have in the past two months on the iPhone. Why? Easy.

* MMS! Oh my god. So nice to have back.
    * Email that doesn't suck. The email interface on the iPhone is kind of lacking.
    * Keyboard. I love it. It's like every key (the alt-keys placement) was very thoughtfully and efficiently placed.
    * Expandable storage! 16GB cards are what, $50-$60? That's nothing when you compare what Apple charges for the same amount/difference in storage.
    * Not having to use iTunes for everything!